Job Hunting Update!

asdfasadfjdsaghadfougdfkjaf!!!!!!!!!!! That’s me being excited, as I am officially employed. I’m gonna go out on a limb and assume anyone who reads this blog (if anyone even reads it…hello?…anyone?…fuck my life) went to bed after reading my last post, but not before saying a prayer for me to find a job. I really appreciate you dropping to your knees like Jenna Jameson, putting your hands together, bowing your head against the bed, and wishing for yours truely to find a job. I can’t thank you enough for trying.

However, none of you helped.

In actuality, it was the Olson twins- stars of New York Minute, and Passport to Paris- who just so happen to be frequent readers of my blog, and who’s job prayers were answered. The reason I know this is because anyone who prayed for me, simply prayed “for Morvay to find a job.” However, given the fact that the Olson’s are twins, both of their prayers were combined, and I now have TWO JOBS! That’s right, not one, but a pair of jobs!

The first is a 12-day gig with the US Open. I’m not exactly sure what I’ll be doing , but it’s 10 dollars an hour, and I’ll get to make some great connections with some New York media there. That starts Wednesday night, with my shifts scheduled from 4pm-1am. It has nothing to do with my journalism or broadcasting, but it will be a good way to make some decent money for the fall.

My second job is with the New York Islanders. It is officially titled a journallism internship, but I’ll be just as important as any other media, as I’ll be covering the ins and outs of the team until December. I negotiated with my boss to pay me $50 a game, which is great since they had offered no money at first. There was also mention of some broadcasting opportunities, so I’m extremely excited to start. Although financially this won’t be beneficial, I’ll be making some amazing contacts, bolster my resume, and learn from once-in-a-lifetime experiences while working for a professional sports organization.

This is what I’ve been waiting for, a chance to get my foot in the door, a chance to get my feet wet, and any other feet sayings you can think of. It’s the start of my career and I couldn’t be happier. The fact that I’m going from working with and writing about college players, to working on a daily basis with multi-millionaires is a pretty cool feeling. It’s comparable to going from dating Marge Simpson to Jessica Simpson. This is a great first step in my career, and I’m really glad it allows me to remain in New York.

Also, I’m really looking forward to meeting the Ice Girls.

3 Responses to “Job Hunting Update!”

  1. Lauren Says:

    Congrats babe! So happy for you. Your blogs are very funny and entertaining to read by the way…keep ’em coming! 🙂

  2. mtriplep Says:

    im very impressed – and i dont think the management chain of any hockey team is very large, you should be able to get some serious shit done around there. and your enthusiasm! its like reading the blog of mike oshita

  3. Jacob Says:

    I didn’t know you started a blog! Cool… say hi to the Ice Girls for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

