It’s About Time Someone Said Something

john sterling

Phil Mushnick of the NY Post just wrote this article on John Sterling, tearing the New York Yankees play-by-play broadcaster a new asshole.

And he is dead on. Sterling sucks and needs to go. He announces things that don’t actually happen, and fails to announce things that do actually happen.

I majored in sports broadcasting at Indiana University. I always wanted to be a sportscaster or reporter before I got into stand-up comedy, and I enjoyed the handful of times I got to do it, and the summer I spent doing play-by-play in Florida. I have my favorite broadcasters (Gus Johnson) and my least favorite (Tim McCarver). I enjoy listening to a well called baseball game, and would expect the Yankees, who pride themselves on being the best, to fill the broadcast booth with a fun, intelligent broadcaster. Sterling is anything but.

In fact, the entire broadcast booth is horrible (I’m looking at you Suzyn Waldman, Paul O’neil, and John Flaherty).

Leave a Reply

